Posted by: everythingcupcakes | February 6, 2009

Thanksgiving, Birthdays, and Christmas Experiments…

So I’ve been on hiatus for the last few months and for a good reason… I’ve been finishing up my last semester of Grad school at Stevens Institute of Technology and I am proud to say I am finally DONE as of December!!! Since my last blog, I’ve experimented with coconut cupcakes topped with coconut buttercream, sweet potato cupcakes topped with cream cheese frosting, and broccoli and cheese meatloaf cupcakes… the last one, odd, yes I know. Joel yelled at me one night because I was baking and said he didn’t want to eat anymore cupcakes… he said, “grill me a steak!” haha… I’ve been neglecting making real food since I’ve been so consumed with baking. Sooo, I decided to make a compromise and make him meatloaf cupcakes. He looked at me and shook his head. I said, “WHAT? It’s meat!” and so the laughing begins.

The coconut cupcakes were for Gloria’s (Joel’s mom) birthday since she looooves coconut flavored things and chocolate so I promised to experiment. It came out great, and it made me think about my aunt’s macaroons… yummm! The sweet potato cupcakes I made were for Thanksgiving and were a hit. I didn’t expect it to be so fluffy because there was no milk but it’s one of the best cakes so far. I had to make it again for Christmas along with 5 other flavors. I was probably baking and decorating cupcakes for three days straight for Christmas.. but it was all worth it when I saw them disappear before we were allowed to eat dessert!

Leave a Reply

Categories

