Posted by: everythingcupcakes | March 28, 2010

Star Wars Party for the Hubster!

Who said Star Wars parties are only for kids!?!?!

Every year I tell my husband I want to make an awesome cake for his birthday, and every year I get stuck with an order and he doesn’t get his cake! This year, I declined all orders to make sure I took the time to make Joel’s cake. I told him I wanted to make him a cake and he said he didn’t want me to bake since I’m always baking. I told him I really wanted to make him a cake and asked him what he wanted.

Joel: Ok fine, re-create the Battle of Hoth from Star Wars

Me: WHAT!? That’s impossible… how do you go from, “don’t make me a cake to the Battle of Hoth!”

Joel: You said you wanted to make me an awesome cake!

At first I was just going to make the cake and invite some of his friends over, but when I went down the part isle at Walmart and I saw a whole section of Star Wars party decoration. Before you know it, I had a whole cart of 3-D plates, cups, tissue paper, table cloths, party favors, and so on. The woman behind be at the cashier said, “Star Wars party for your boy huh! I would do that for my son but he’s already 13.” I laughed and said, “ummm, this is for my husband and he’s turning 27!” I wish I had a camera to take a picture of her face because it was PRICELESS.

The cake was coconut cake, filled and topped with coconut cream cheese frosting.  I topped the cake with coconut shavings to make it look like snow then I landscaped it to look like the scene. I made fondant lego figures of the troopers and eco base. The AT-AT’s were rice krispies cereal treats covered in fondant.I ran out of time so I stuck some Legos on top of the cake to fill in the gaps… I know, I cheated a bit… but the cake looked great!

Joel had no idea I was throwing him a Star Wars party. He thought I was just making the cake and having his friends over for a BBQ.  He was banned from the living room until everything was set up. He even had a Vader pinata! When he entered the room, he had the cheesiest smile on his face and gave me a thumbs up with approval!

Leave a Reply

Categories

